Welcome to Delaware! Delaware is a small but diverse state, including urban cities and rural communities, beaches, forests, and farms - with historic roots (the First State!) and emerging industries. Delaware is known as a state of neighbors, so welcome to your new neighborhood! This guide contains some of what you need to move to Delaware, including resources for driving, voting, working, housing, school, exploring Delaware, and more.
For families, you will find a world-class education in Delaware. And, with our museums, parks, art, theaters, and festivals - there’s plenty to keep your kids learning and happy.
This guide is to help you get settled in your new home state. Once you are here, take a chance to explore your new home, check out all of the attractions, and hidden gems!
For a full list of new resident moving resources, visit Delaware's Division of Motor Vehicles
Drivers who move to Delaware from another State must to update their driver’s license within 60 days of establishing residency in Delaware.
What you need:
Applicants will be required to fill out an application and pass an eye screening test. Written and road test may be given, but they are normally waived if your license is valid. Suspended and revoked licenses can not be transferred until the withdrawal action is cleared.
Drivers from other countries must obtain a Delaware license within 60 days of establishing Delaware residency. Drivers from other countries may retain their foreign licenses.
Non-resident drivers over the age of 16 years who have a valid driver license issued by their home country may operate motor vehicles in Delaware when their license is in their immediate possession
All drivers licensed in other countries and U.S. Territories must pass both the written and road test.
Delaware has a reciprocity agreement with Germany, Taiwan (Republic of China) and France thereby exempting these drivers from the written and road tests.
More information on the federally compliant diver license and identification card can be found at the DMV's page about the iDelaware Card.
New Delaware residents must title and register their vehicle within 60 days of establishing residency.
Before registering, you will need:
Find more information to help you register your vehicle in Delaware.
Delaware offers a variety of early learning services to children and families, including:
To learn more about these programs visit the Delaware Department of Education.
Delaware Stars for Early Success is a voluntary program that helps families find quality child care with reliable and objective ratings. To learn more about Delaware Stars and for a comprehensive list of programs organized by Star rating, visit www.delawarestars.udel.edu
Search for childcare by location, name or rating.
Use the Delaware Department of Education’s school locator tool to find your school and district.
Delaware law requires that all students entering a school system provide proof of required immunizations.
These immunization requirements have been established in collaboration with the Division of Public Health based on the guidelines from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
For a complete list of Delaware required immunizations, medical and religious exemption guidelines, and additional immunization resources, visit the Delaware Department of Education.
Find all of your elected government officials at our our Government topic page.
You can find contact information for the Department of Election and Office of State Election Commissioner in your county by visiting the Department of Elections.
Use Delaware's voter polling portal to find your polling place before upcoming elections.
To register to vote in Delaware, you can register:
You can register to vote:
Explore employment opportunities and reasons to work for the State of Delaware on Delaware Employment Link.
To browse all open positions and apply, check out Delaware's state job search.
The Department of Human Resource Management offers government career counseling only. To contact one of the offices or to make an appointment, visit the Delaware Employment Link.
When you move, it’s important to take a look at your income and budget. Delaware may have a lower or higher cost-of-living than your previous residence. Our Delaware Available Income Calculator tool is a simple way for you to see average costs for you and your family when it comes to a number of important categories, like housing and food. This will help you to set your budget benchmarks for each pay period. The tool will also show you what your taxes will look like in our state, and help you to understand what income you will have available to invest in positive outcomes, like a down payment for a new home.
Delaware JobLink offers resources that connect job seekers and existing workers with employers and training/education providers including:
Visit Delaware Works to find more information about finding employment.
Delaware law requires businesses and people working in certain professions to obtain a professional license before conducting business or practicing the profession in the state of Delaware.
To determine whether or not you need a professional license, and to find profession-specific application instructions, visit Applying for a Professional License.
Delaware is ready to help your business succeed. Whether you are looking to learn, start, or grow - Delaware has a number of public sector, non profit, and private sector organizations to help. Connect to statewide assistance for business. Find even more resources thru the Division of Small Business search tool.
The Delaware State Housing Authority offers safe and affordable housing to opportunities low-income individuals and families through Public Housing, Housing Choice Vouchers (formerly Section 8), Housing Subsidies, and Tax Credit.
Visit the Delaware State Housing Authority for more information on:
To apply for affordable housing, contact your local Public Housing Agency.
The Delaware State Housing Authority might be able to help.
If you have a landlord or tenant issue, contact the Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Agency at (302) 577-5783.
Delaware’s Fair Housing laws prohibit housing discrimination on the bases of
For more information about your fair housing rights and examples of housing discrimination, visit the Division of Human Relations Fair Housing Information Center.
If you believe you have been discriminated against for any of the reasons listed above, file a complaint with the Division of Human Relations.
For general information about insurance for consumers, businesses, and legal purposes, visit the Department of Insurance.
Information and forms regarding home, renters, and flood insurance can be accessed directly through the Consumer Listing.
Access insurance information and related forms in Spanish.
For detailed information about Homeowners and Renters Insurance in Delaware, visit the Instant Insurance Guide.To compare home insurance rates and to find agents in your area, visit the Insurance Commissioner and Department of Insurance.
Flood damage is not typically covered by standard homeowner insurance policies. Homeowners who live in an area that is prone to flooding are advised to purchase flood insurance. For more information on flood insurance and to find your address’ flood risk, visit the FEMA National Flood Insurance Program.
Visit the DMV's website on Mobile Homes for information on titling your mobile home.
Open Enrollment for Marketplace coverage for 2019 ended on December 15, 2018.
If you do not qualify for Medicaid based on income alone, still apply because you may qualify for Delaware’s program.
For more information on Medicaid and CHIP in Delaware, visit www.insurekidsnow.gov.
If you are a Delaware Resident and suffer from an eligible debilitating condition, you may be approved for the use of medical marijuana.
There are 3 authorized marijuana dispensaries in Delaware. In order to be protected under the Delaware Medical Marijuana Act, patients must buy their marijuana from an authorized dispensary. The patient’s marijuana must also be labeled from from one of these authorized dispensaries. Patients are not authorized to grow their own marijuana.
For more information about Medical Marijuana in Delaware, visit the Division of Public Health.
Delaware State law mandates that all dogs 6 months of age or older must be licensed. Cats do not need to be licensed. Owners must present proof of rabies vaccination at the time the license is issued.
For licensing fees and other information about licensing your dog, visit the Delaware Health and Social Services Office of Animal Welfare.
Delaware is home to 18 state parks, 8 beaches, and many campsites and trails for hiking or biking! Learn more about how you can enjoy the Delaware outdoors!
Some outdoor activities, including fishing, hunting, boating, and conservation access using a motor vehicle require a license or permit. You may purchase your license in person at one of these locations.
You also have the option to purchase and print the following permits/licenses
Delaware law requires all motorboats, including those powered by electric motors, to be registered.
For registration fees and other information, visit Delaware Boat Registration Information.
Any registered motor vehicle that is used to access State Wildlife Areas for the purposes of hunting, bird watching, photography, and similar activities are required to have a Conservation Access Pass.
Recreational anglers and shellfishers must purchase an annual Delaware Fishing License.
Visit the Division of Fish and Wildlife for more services and information regarding recreational licenses, permits, and passes.
It important that you and your family are prepared in the event of a disaster or emergency. Visit the federal government's website for disaster planning guides, emergency alerts, and other important information.
Register your cell phone number in the Delaware Emergency Notification System, and you will get proactive notifications if there is an emergency. The system allows local 911 centers or emergency managers to send messages to the specific street, neighborhood, or larger areas affected by the event.